The Comma Key

The comma key.

It is a tiny key on a 78-key keyboard. You wouldn't think it would be that big of a deal given how frequently we use letters, but it is highly functional.

About 8-9 weeks ago, I found a LivingSocial deal for a tablet keyboard for my iPad. It was such a good deal that I couldn't pass up, so I bought it. 3-4 weeks later, I get the keyboard in the mail and it works great. It even has a place to hold my iPad while I type away on it. (By the way, if you haven't invested in a keyboard and you type a lot on your tablet, I highly suggest investing in one. Well worthy your time!)

I would store this keyboard in my bag and carry it with me when I knew I would be mobile and not in the office, but still need to get work done. All was well until one fateful day when I pulled my precious keyboard out from my bag and realized that it had snagged something. Upon pulling it out, the comma key was pryed off from it!

(cue dramatic gasp!)

Fortunately, I was able to press it back into place, but it would not stay there long. I would be busy typing away, needing to use the comma key, and I'd either have to press down really hard for the tile to connect well with the sensory button underneath or I'd have to stop work because the tile fell off from my work.

I tried to remedy the situation by using some glue, but even that didn't help. So, basically, I was stuck with the above picture. If I wanted to use the comma key, I would have to use my ink pen to press down into the sensory to insert a comma.

Now, I'm not a badge-wearing member of the grammar police, but I do appreciate being able to use the comma key. The comma key makes all the difference in how things are interpreted. For example, “Let's play catch, Grandpa!” vs. “Let's play catch Grandpa!” or “Slow, kids at play.” vs. “Slow kids at play.”

See what I mean?

The key that I had gotten so used to was now no longer accessible (friendly use, at least). Something that I was used to using almost everyday was now gone, and I had taken that for granted.

The absence of this key from my mobile working environment caused me to realize that I take different things for granted everyday, and I may not even be aware of them!

  • Being able to call family
  • Having a functional working car
  • Having socks
  • Being able to live freely.

What about you? Are there “comma keys” that you use everyday and don't realize the significance of them until they're gone? How can you change that?

 

Leave a comment